Reserves & Zoos

Currently, there are 25 zoos in 15 countries and regions (Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, France, Germany, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, Scotland, United States) that have giant pandas. These zoos have contracts with China to house these pandas for a few years. Giant pandas are on the IUCN Red List so part of the reason these contracts exist between China and international zoos, is to try to help the species reproduce before they are brought back to their native land. For this reason, pandas are treated very well.

  • Adelaide Zoo – adelaidezoo.com.au
  • Vienna Zoo – zoovienna.at
  • Pairi Daiza Zoo – pairidaiza.eu
  • Toronto Zoo – torontozoo.com
  • Ocean Park – oceanpark.com.hk
  • Taipei Zoo – english.zoo.taipei.gov.tw
  • ZooParc de Beauval – zoobeauval.com
  • Berlin Zoological Garden – zoo-berlin.de
  • Ueno Zoo – tokyo-zoo.net/english/ueno/
  • Chapultepec Zoo – chapultepec.df.gob.mx
  • Ouwehands Zoo – ouwehand.nl
  • Singapore Zoo – zoo.com.sg
  • Zoo Aquarium de Madrid – zoomadrid.com
  • Chiang Mai Zoo – chiangmaizoo.com
  • Edinburgh Zoo – edinburghzoo.org.uk
  • Edinburgh Zoo – edinburghzoo.org.uk
  • San Diego Zoo – sandiegozoo.org
  • Zoo Atlanta – zooatlanta.org
  • Memphis Zoo – memphiszoo.org
  • Smithsonian National Zoo – nationalzoo.si.edu

A Nature Reserve is designated by the Chinese Government to be a protected area where exploitation of its nature resources is prohibited. Therefore, the establishment of nature reserves helps to protect the existing populations of giant pandas and preserve the co-existing rich and precious biodiversity. Since 1963, 33 nature reserves have been established. For the giant panda National Survey, the Chinese Government deploys experienced research teams to carry out comprehensive biological surveys of each site. Amongst the first reserve to be established was the Wolong Nature Reserve (total area 200,000Km2) in Wenchuan County of Sichuan province, the former home of Hong Kong’s panda ambassadors.